Asian Quinoa Salad

I was really in the mood for something with great Asian flavor, but being that I am going vegan and that I count calories, ordering takeout just wasn’t really an option. Additionally, I didn’t have a lot of time on my hands, so making some sort of Asian dish from scratch seemed out of the question as well. I came up with this quinoa-based Asian dish and it turned out great! Not only is it great tasting but it’s good for you and it takes very little prep/cooking time. Would go great with fried tofu or some Asian spiced tempeh.

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked Quinoa

1 1/4 cup Water

1/2 cup Edamame, frozen or fresh will work

2 tbsp Soy Sauce or Bragg’s

2 tsp Chinese Five Spice

1 tsp Rice Wine Vinegar

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Bring water and quinoa to a boil in a medium saucepan. Reduce heat and simmer for 25 minutes.

2) Add edamame, soy sauce, vinegar, and 5 Spice. Cook for an additional 5 minutes.

3) Salt and pepper to taste. Serve Warm.

Makes 4 servings at 200 calories per serving.



Leave a comment