Making the Jump

If you’ve been reading this blog, you know that I’ve only become very serious about being vegetarian since the beginning of this year. And while that is nearly 6 months now, it’s still not really that long in the grand scheme of things. Even before I became a total vegetarian I was eating less and less meat, but actually consciously thinking about what I was eating didn’t happen on a serious level until this past January.

While I stopped eating meat and dairy entirely (meat was a personal choice, dairy was out of medical necessity), I was still consuming eggs, yogurt, sour cream, and other animal products such as casein, a milk protein used in many lactose-free soy cheeses/products. I did make an effort to buy cage-free eggs and other organic items, but I didn’t stop to think about where those items were actually coming from.

A few weeks ago I was in Barnes and Noble and I came across a book called Eating Animals. The book looked very interesting and like it was a lot of research, which is something I enjoy reading. The main goal of the book is not necessarily to convert people to vegetarianism or veganism, but to educate them on where their food is coming from. Fifteen pages in, I decided it was time to make the jump to veganism. The longer I am a vegetarian, the more I see how wrong it is what we do to animals just so we can eat – especially when there are so many cruelty-free choices out there.

Chalk it up to my revived love of cooking and experimentation in the kitchen or my goal to eat healthier, but whether it’s that or my always-present-never-quite-surfaced moral objection to animal cruelty, I believe that the vegan lifestyle is the way I need to be living in order to match my inside with my outside. While I will begin this process gradually, I plan to be completely vegan by the end of June. I do not believe in wasting food, therefore I will finish the animal products that I have in my pantry/refrigerator, however, I will not be eating any of these things when I go out to eat nor will I eat them if I don’t have to.

Because I am beginning on another lifestyle change, I will be starting a new blog called The Unintentional Vegan. I will let everyone know when the blog is up and running, but that being said, I will not post on here much more. I have a few recipes that I will share, however once the new blog is up this one will no longer be updated. If you been reading, thank you, and I hope you continue to follow me on my journey to a new, healthier, happier me.

Leave a Reply

