Fighting Back Against Your Sweet Tooth

Since I’ve become a vegetarian I’ve noticed that my craving for sweets has increased. Granted, it didn’t take much for it to increase as I’ve never really been a sweet eater; I never get dessert, never keep sweets in the house, and my house is the only one in America that can have Girl Scout Cookies around all year without them being eaten.

Now that I’ve cut out meat though, I definitely find myself wanting sweets more and more often. As I am also watching my calories, indulging on all the sweets I crave is just not an option, and I don’t think it’s really a viable option for anyone. With that in mind, I’ve come up with a few tips for things that have helped me curb my craving for sweets.

1) Drink Tea – This is one of the stranger things I’ve found to keep me away from the sweets, but drinking tea really does keep the cravings away. At night when I’m craving something sweet, instead of eating candy or cookies I make myself a cup of peppermint tea. The tea has just the right amount of sweetness to fulfill my craving and it doesn’t cost me any calories. This is also a great option if you are craving a soda. Keep flavored teas around the house to drink instead.

2) Eat Energy Bars – Sometimes I just need some chocolate and energy bars are one the best ways for me to get the chocolate flavor I crave while also getting some much needed protein. While you won’t really save on the calories here – most of the energy bars I buy (Larabars, Luna) range in calories from 180 – 290 – you will get some good vitamins and essential nutrients without having a sugar crash later in the day. These are perfect at breakfast or lunch time.

3) Keep Fruit in the House – Fruit is a great source of vitamins and most fruits are also fairly low in calories. A medium orange has about 90 calories and a pear has around 100 calories. Apples also have around 90 to 100 calories per fruit and so do bananas. Fruit is sweet enough to curb your cravings and can provide your body with essential nutrients. Fruit is also fairly inexpensive so you can afford to always have it around the house.

These are just a few ways I’ve found to keep away from the sweets over the last few weeks. Let me know if there are any methods you use to keep your sugar consumption down without going crazy!

Leave a Reply

