Meatball Dreams

One thing that has surprised me so far this month is that I haven’t craved meat at all. I thought I’d have a few moments of weakness or at least a few cravings, but I really haven’t had any of that. However, a few nights ago I did experience something that was possibly worse than a craving or moment of weakness: I had a dream that I chowed down on some meatballs.

The dream started out innocently enough – I was at a Super Bowl party enjoying the football game and having a few laughs. Then it was halftime, and we all know what happens at halftime: we eat. I went into the kitchen and loaded up my plate indiscriminately and then sat down to indulge in the treats before me. I put my fork into a juicy meatball and as I put it to my mouth someone sitting next to me said, “Oh, you’re eating meat now?” But by then it was too late, the meatball was in my mouth. I spit it out immediately, but the damage was done.

I woke up in a cold sweat, literally, and was in a panic about the fact that I had eaten meat. It took me a few moments to realize that it was only a dream, but I was still a bit shaken by the whole thing. Needless to say, I think I’d rather have the occasional craving than another meatball dream.

Leave a Reply

