Cooking Meat for Others

Another issue that I’ve been faced with lately is cooking meat for other people. In my household, I am the only one who doesn’t eat meat – and who am I to deny anyone else that right? The easy answer is that whoever wants to eat meat can just cook their own dinner, but it’s not always that simple. My daughter needs to make these decisions for herself, and being that she is only 3 1/2, it’s not exactly a decision she has all the information to make.

And therein lies the dilemma: how do I go about cooking meat for others without making two completely different meals? Tonight I am making rice, potato salad, and chicken, which means that I will be having rice and potato salad. As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been having an issue with carb consumption, and once again, I find myself in the same situation. While I will probably just end up making corn or another vegetable to even out the meal a bit, I still need some fresh ideas on how to cook for everyone’s needs without having to pull double-duty in the kitchen.

This is just one more challenge I will have to overcome if I want to continue on the vegetarian path, and that is something I definitely want to do. I am 17 days meat-free and I haven’t missed it once.

Leave a Reply

